Administration and management of the Disability Empowerment Network (DEN) meetings is arranged by the Surrey Coalition of Disabled People (SCDP)

For more information, please contact: Involvement@surreycoalition.org.uk or Tel/SMS 07492 249 513 for details of how to participate in meetings remotely.

All Empowerment Meetings Are Held Via Zoom Unless Otherwise Noted

Surrey Wide DENS all starting at 6pm - online only
Monday 18th March
Monday 20th May
Monday 23rd September
Monday 11th November

Surrey Wide DENS daytime with breakout rooms for the different areas. Online only.
Friday 15th March 1.30-3pm
Tuesday 21st May 11-12.30pm
Friday 20th September 1.30pm-3pm
Tuesday 19th November 11-12.30pm

Members are requested to only come to either the daytime or the evening Surrey wide meeting.

East DENS person at 10.30am - Monday 18th March
South West DENS in person at 10.30am - Wednesday 15th May
North DENS in person at 10.30am - Monday 9th September

 

12:54, 16 Feb 2024 by Lesley Windle

**Images from Kew Garden's Web Pages

Kew Gardens run their walks around the beautiful setting at Kew that are designed to be accessible for people living with dementia, sight loss or hearing loss and Community Wellbeing.  All walks start from Victoria Gate and last around 60 minutes. The walks are led by their volunteer walk leaders. Support workers, friends or family are very welcome and will also receive free entry to the Gardens.

Walking tours have to be a limited to a set number of people who can participate so it is essential that you register in advance for ALL/ANY walks and events held at Kew. Email discovery@kew.org Telephone 07341 114533. Please Check the Kew Web pages for any changes to the schedules.
Kew Community Well Being
Communitiy Well Being Tours
The community wellbeing walks are for members of the Community Access Scheme at Kew Gardens and are designed to be accessible for everyone.
Starting from Victoria Gate and lasting around 60 minutes, the walks are led by Kew's volunteer walk leaders.
Wednesday 7 February 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 6 March 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 3 April 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 5 June 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 3 July 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 7 August 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 4 September 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 2 October 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 6 November 2024 11am to 12pm
Check Kew Gardens web site for more details

Image for Dementia Walking Tours
People Living with Dementia Tour Dates
Wednesday 14 February 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 13 March 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 10 April 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 12 June 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 10 July 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 14 August 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 11 September 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 9 October 2024 11am to 12pm
Wednesday 13 November 2024 11am to 12pm
Check Kew Gardens web site for more details

Kew Image for BSL Walkig Tours
British Sign Language Guided Tour Dates
Sunday 11 February 2024
Sunday 25 February 2024
Sunday 10 March 2024
Sunday 14 April 2024
Sunday 9 June 2024
Sunday 14 July 2024
Sunday 11 August 2024
Sunday 8 September 2024
Sunday 13 October 2024
Sunday 10 November 2024
Check Kew Gardens web site for more details

Image for Sensory Walking Tours
Sensory Guided Tour Dates
Sunday 11 February 2024 2-3pm
Sunday 25 February 2024 2-3pm
Sunday 10 March 2024 2-3pm
Sunday 14 April 2024 2-3pm
Sunday 9 June 2024 2-3pm
Sunday 14 July 2024 2-3pm
Sunday 11 August 2024 2-3pm
Sunday 8 September 2024 2-3pm
Sunday 13 October 2024 2-3pm
Sunday 10 November 2024 2-3pm
Check Kew Gardens web site for more details

17:46, 20 Jan 2024 by Lesley Windle

Volunteer awards
The award categories are:
Impact Award / Difference Maker
Inspirational Volunteer
Young Volunteer
Long-service award
Volunteer team award
Health and wellbeing award
Fundraiser of the year
Runnymede and Spelthorne Volunteer Awards were hosted and jointly held with Royal Holloway University on Monday 5th June.
Congratulations to all of our impressive winners. Solette Sheppardson, VSNS CEO, said, "Tonight is more than recognition. It’s a coming together of minds highlighting good work by good people."

Initially there were seven awards but given the strength of the nominations the judges made the decision to give two awards in the Impact Award category, one for an individual and one for an organisation, and two awards in the Inspirational Award category. An additional award for Environment Champion was also created.

Special mention was also made for Ari Zoides – a posthumous award. Ari founded the Tea Boat Project, This community project on the river by Staines Bridge provides a floating café while seeking to inspire and rejuvenate the local community, improving the natural environment and providing opportunities that enthuse and engage people from less privileged circumstances. All work is carried out by volunteers from the local community, local firms and businesses and long-term unemployed in collaboration with Jobcentre Plus (Department of Works and Pensions). The project is not only a testament to Ari’s vision, but also to his ability to inspire and drive volunteers to achieve great things.

Here are our winners:
Volunteer (individual) who has made the most impact:

Jason Lane, Spelthorne Parkies - supporting people living with Parkinson's and their families
Volunteer Team that has made the most impact:
Village Centre volunteers from Engelfield Green, which offers services such as a community fridge, café, child contact centre and baby basics
Young Volunteer:
Matthew Neathey, Staines and Egham Sea Cadets
Inspirational Volunteers:
Ari Zoides, Tea Boat Project
Lizzie Wayland, Elevate Life and Little Lights
John Martin, White Lodge
Long Service Award:
Lesley Windle, SCAN (Spelthorne Committee for Access Now)
Fundraiser Award:
Jane Cawsey, White Lodge
Health and Wellbeing Award:
Mel Connolly – Local Conversation Stanwell
Volunteer Team Award:
Citizens Advice Runnymede and Spelthorne Court Desk Team, supporting some of the most vulnerable in society who find themselves in court facing homelessness, repossession, debt and other issues
Environmental Champion Award:
Neil Maitland-Walker, Spelthorne Litter Pickers

A big thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate the volunteers who make such a difference to our communities. 

09:33, 17 Jan 2024 by Lesley Windle

Archive

Use the calendar or list of months to view entries made on those dates.

S M T W T F S
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29    

RSS Feed

If you have a feed reader you can use this link to get updates.

RSS feed